Hurricane

I mentioned that my level 2+ kids wrote the extensions for a story for my level 1 kids. They’re much more interesting than I am!

It was a long reading, and we needed a break, so we played hurricane. I reviewed “I want,” “I have,” and “I love.” We sat in a circle with one chair too few for the group. I started with “I love school.” Anyone who agreed had to stand up, so I stole my teacher aide’s chair. Then she said that she had a sister. A bunch of kids stood up and had to find a new place. The kids had to use words they knew or common nouns. We set the timer for just ten minutes, but had a great time and learned a little about each other. Then everyone was able to get back to the reading with enthusiasm and new energy. (Rules: no pushing, no sitting on others.)

Leave a Reply

