Fail!

I tried doing a model screen-writing yesterday with a level 2-3 group on Poor Anna. I thought it would be cool, and there was a lot of language that we covered, to decide what the scene would be, how the opening would be narrated, if necessary, or if that would just be part of the script. Then we talked about where the action would start, how Anna would be dressed, what time of the year it would be, how the other students would act toward her in class (and how they would be dressed). FLOP! I heard from other groups how much the students didn’t like it.I didn’t like it either.

I need one of Nathan’s flowcharts again! I think I’ll just refer to the last one, and figure that no one wants to start something new this week before finals.

4 responses to “Fail!

  1. Hey Michele, don’t you worry ’bout a thing! It’s that time of year my friend! I had Chuck Norris in almost every story this week and we had fun with it! (FYI Google “How to find Chuck Norris” and check out the first result!) My kids have been working on the first person this week and I have been doing all of the voices while they lipsynch and do actions to match my words. Pretty labor intensive for me but it went pretty well. Today and tomorrow we are reading the stories kids wrote last year and next week they will write and illustrate short stories in first person. Then we watch “Finding Nemo” with French and Spanish sound tracks! I feel good! Best to you and Karl!

    Like

  2. Sometimes the lesson eats you. Nom nom nom nom nom.

    You know, I had something similar happen last week with a story I had come up with about Black Friday. I had the thing scripted out in advanced, I had practiced my PQA, I had a song that it was backwards planned out of, and BANG. Just didn’t go anywhere. DOA. The PQA ended up okay, but the day as a whole was just a dud.

    For me it seems that the more invested I am in making something work, the more it seems to crash. So then I ask why do I prep so much?

    Hang in there with the innovations! I’m drafting a lot off of what you are doing, so keep it up! (How’s that for self-serving encouragement?)

    Like

  3. It’s ALWAYS better to draft off someone else, which is why when I hit the floor with such a resounding flop, I try to tell you about it.

    I think that extra investment by me possibly takes potential buy-in from the kids away. I’m pushing my own scenario at that point. That’s a hard dance to do though–we do have to occasionally impose some things on them. Hmm…but I need to think about why that is…if what I want them to do is learn the language, following their lead is way better than trying to guide them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

