Speaking again

Today my advanced kids had a speaking assessment. I switched it on them…forgot completely that plan of having them do first-person from their reading.

This is more a comment than anything else. I have been feeling as though I’m doing too much assessing. But it seems to be all or nothing with me. Either it’s two days a week of assessments, plus a grade for homework and possibly deportment in the non-academic section, or I forget to do them reliably.

On the other hand, I am happy to hear how much these kids can actually talk! Some of my “advanced” (as opposed to level 1) kids made huge jumps since the semester finals. At the same time, I can hear the places they’re having problems. I hear a lot of the same issues from kid to kid, and it gives me a clear idea of what I have to focus on.

So maybe it’s not so bad that I’m assessing more often.

Having asked for help with vocabulary assessment, I am now interested in what you can suggest about mixed-level listening assessment. I just about went crazy last weekend trying to find something that I could have them all listen to and yet differentiate. I thought I had that down, but I don’t, especially now that they’re all reading different novel-type selections. It’s frustrating!!

Leave a Reply

