Quia quiz

For my second cool trick of the day, I posted a quiz on quia.com — it was really a listening exercise for my level one and two kids, but I called it a quiz so that they’d take it seriously. I recorded myself reading a script about Lake Baikal. I pasted every statement into a question box and left out one word. The kids had to listen to the script to fill in the missing words. Of course, since I also pasted in the translation, I had a couple of kids decide that they would do it without the recording. That was okay. They were getting input.

Take a look and see what you think. In pre-TPRS days, I would never have approved of putting in the English. Some of these sentences are too complex for my level one kids, though, and so I wanted them to be able to feel comfortable.

http://www.quia.com/quiz/3056465.html

I made a recording on Garage Band (PC users can use Accousticity) and uploaded the sound file to Quia. I gather I could do the same thing on Moodle but haven’t learned Moodle yet. Gotta do that–$50/year isn’t much but is something.

If you do go with Quia, put in the kids’ names yourself so that you have control.

2 responses to “Quia quiz

  1. I’ve been using Vocaroo for audio lately. I don’t know if you could use it for Quia, but it gives you html and a link for sharing via the Internet.

    Like

  2. Hmm…I wonder! I use MSU’s CLEAR program usually, but can’t download the files from there to upload into Quia.

    Here’s a funny: I recorded into MSU CLEAR, then opened Garage Band and hit record while the MSU files played (because I can embed the MSU files nicely on my website) and then shared that to my iTunes and uploaded from there. None of it really took a lot of time, but it was a process that I wouldn’t have liked if I hadn’t known all three programs well enough. I’d like to do podcasts through iTunes, but I don’t like the idea of having to open my iTunes account on the school computer to be able to upload to there. So I’ll stick with MSU CLEAR for embedding.

    It turns out that Vocaroo is really very easy to use! I can’t figure out how to download it, unless I buy something, but for a fast file, it would be easier to use it than to go through the MSU site–then I can still collect it on a Garage Band file. If there’s something missing, Let me know if I’m missing something.

    Thanks for the great tip!

    Like

Leave a Reply

