Easy reading quiz

I figured out an easy way to give a quiz on a reading…told you about those quizzes I was making: type questions out in English, and kids write answers in Russian, skimming through the reading to find the right words.

Today I switched it because I hadn’t typed up questions, but I did have a reading handout that we’ve used for a couple of days. The kids looked at the half-sheet reading (on the dogs in space) while I asked questions in English. “Who picked mutts to send into space?” and they had to circle the answers and put the number of the question near the circled word. I told them I would read the question twice, and I went pretty slowly so that kids could find the answers. I was a little worried about some of the slower processors. But it turned out okay. All but one got A’s or B’s (I decided that 7-8 correct answers was my B) and 5-6 was a C. The tenth question was that they circle a word they learned from this reading and define it.

I could have typed up the questions and projected them to save paper, rather than reading them aloud. I’m kind of happy about the ease of this experiment. It didn’t really allow for an “analysis” question, but it did give a lot of success and made them read the selection one more time. I liked it!

3 responses to “Easy reading quiz

  1. I found a post on my wiki that came from Lynn (sorry … no last name) about variations on comprehension. It’s long and worthy!

    Lynn 11.28.10 at 11:51 AM
    what could a range of comprehension batch of quizzes look like? wow, so many options.
    mostly 8 – 15 words/phrases
    quizzes take about 10 minutes, usually
    i don’t test them to death. here are a few approaches and I think it shows me who is where. I think there’s enough range here that the students realize that it’s a pretty good reflection of how much “intention to listen to understand” they are putting in. YES, most everyone scores good marks but the truth is, you have to be NOT listening to learn in here!
    i go through the recycling bin in the photo copy room, cut paper in quarters or lengthways, keep them in a basket on my shelf and use those for the quizzes. Students move their desks (that’s a couple of lessons at the beginning of our time together) always the same students, same place, away we go. my kids sit in two horseshoes with spaces between middle desks so I can get through quickly. i drop a handful of papers quickly and they pass. takes seconds.
    after writing, kids pass their papers for marking. the rule is, if most of them don’t succeed, I haven’t taught it well enough, test doesn’t count. HAS HAPPENED ONCE – when I thought I had taught a lesson to a block and they were too sweet to say “hey, you didn’t teach this!” we didn’t count the quiz…they were happy, I was happy. although, what a waste of time that was!
    –i have them call out their scores (teaches numbers) they can say “pass” and come tell me later. saves a ton of time, we can get through this in a matter of seconds versus minutes of me recording later.
    –when they are done I say (in target language) they can make balls and fire the paper in the recycling, or try and hit a particular student. they must pick up the paper and throw it at someone else who puts it in the recycling. or, they line up at a masking tape line and if they hit the basket, they can get something out of the sack of fun. all this is in French, which is totally comprehensible by the end of our time together. the options are endless, passing the papers, putting the papers in their binders, getting up and giving them to someone who has to get up and put them in the recycling….on and on, the trick being to give them some relief from the constant barrage of input, have some fun, get moving
    –pull words from the lesson and have them write English/French
    –have a list of words, vocabulary I’ve gone over a few times – be it “weather words” or vocab from class activities. call out the words and use them in sentences as well.
    –have a list of words, vocabulary I’ve gone over a few times – be it “weather words” or vocab from class activities. call out the words in isolation.
    –have a list of words, vocabulary I’ve gone over a few times – be it “weather words” or vocab from class activities. ask questions using the words and kids answer in French or English, one word answers
    –have a list of words, from vocabulary from the day’s lesson (warn the kids at the beginning there will be a quiz at the end) – be it “weather words” or vocab from class activities. call out the words in isolation.
    –at the end of the lesson ask the students for a list of words they think they should know after the lesson. use it immediately – I get to use a whole bunch of new vocab finding out the vocab for the test and there comes another lesson right out of the blue! woo hoo. (another quiz in the making)
    –Keep an ongoing list of vocab that I’ve taught (five words or phrases each day) post it on chart paper/or run off on the printer at the back of the room. I give the students an updated copy at the end of the month. The rule is that I can only test them on the words on the list (I sneak other words in when I use them in the questions on the quiz) the English is not on the posted list I keep at the back of the room. I keep the list on a chart so I can manipulate the French and English easily. When I want a fairly huge review quiz I simply delete the English column (because that’s easiest ) If I want to test them on about 50 words, I always give that as a huge review sheet first. which is the vocab list without the french or englis and they can use their list to complete the review. I let them know there is a huge actual test around the corner and they better take a look at that list and review. the marks are always very good for the most part and those who really aren’t concerned about making French the most important thing in their lives make that pretty clear with their score – c’est la vie
    We’ve been together for a few months. Now I have a list of phrases they should know. I turn this into a list…about 30 questions using the target words. Class list in hand I ask the questions and call on random students.
    star – perfect tick – hesitant dot – got it, with help X – not yet
    I only ask about 10 – 15 questions, more is too much I think. after i have a substantial number of responses I turn it into a mark for oral comprehension out of whatever I decide 10/15/25
    Using the same list, I choose only a few of the questions. I put this on the screen or run it off so they have a hard copy they can keep, put in their binders for reference or to study from….or, when I need a quiet day, they must answer in full sentences and write in their notebook (which never leaves the class)
    I run off a hard copy of some sentences and double space. They write the answers below.
    I write sentences or use dictés or use stories, run it off on a hard copy, they write the translation below.
    I make up some questions, they give me two crazy responses and one correct
    I write the (on the screen) really good ones as we work together. i have multiple choice quiz presto and I can use it next class, or a few classes down the road.
    I give them a list (after much time together) of the 1 00 000 000 sorts of questions Blaine has provided in his books and we use all the time,
    who what where when why how many does, will, negative, two for one, and or, affirmative
    they can answer with one or two words. in English if they wish, i always tell them I prefer they answer in French but English is okay.
    –keep in mind that lots of reading is really hard on some of the students and they don’t feel at all successful and they look at the page and just freeze, and put on the brakes…. these students won’t survive high school french where the focus is from a text daily. so sad.
    too darn bad we have to test them.
    i do get some grumbles from random students when i hand out the papers. which i’ve learned to address instantly. ABSOLUTELY no complaining…think it, but DON’T say it. I must test, this isn’t a choice, end of story.

    Like

    • Thank you thank you thank you. I’m not really happy at all with my current quizzes, because although I can make them more difficult than the yes/no stuff, this really gives some variety which I don’t really have. I’m reformatting this list and posting it next to my desk.

      Like

  2. When you reformat it, could you share it here? I love your re-formats!! — if you do, could you possibly do so as a major post so that we can find it?

    I feel as though we really need a category of ways to mix it up or something like that. All of us need inspiration and ways to change things up from time to time. The other day, when I had an observer and things were clearly not going anywhere in the story, I found myself staring at the class thinking about how I always tell people that there are many places to go in a TPRS class, but for the life of me I couldn’t think of a thing. It was my own fault–didn’t have a kid writing quizzes, didn’t have anyone taking notes (that’s changed now), didn’t have a plan for output. . . it was crazy!

    I do have Vera’s list on my tprs collection page, as well as 15 things to do with a story.
    One helpful list would be “ways to use visuals.” I have three for drawing: draw pictures as we tell the story, draw a mural and don’t leave anything out, and draw pictures for an embedded story. Then of course you can use those for reading, writing, listening or speaking assessment. I am trying to milk everything we do to the nth degree, partly to get more reps of vocabulary, and partly to get those pictures jammed into their heads.

    Like

Leave a Reply

