Assessment course

Our wonderful AEIN network is considering offering a year-long course on assessment. They sent us these questions. I think they’re worth considering even without the prospect of a course.

“One question we would like to pose to the group is if you were involved in a year long ongoing course around assessment for learning what would you consider to be a successful outcome? What would we see and hear in your practice that supports effective assessment?”

I would love to hear ideas from other teachers. I’ll come back in a bit and comment about how I answered.

5 responses to “Assessment course

  1. A successful outcome for me would look something like the goals the Robert discussed in another space. Three that resonated with me are that students would be able to advocate for themselves to determine how they best learn a language.I hope that each child will have positive feeling and an openess to the taget culture and by extension other cultures. I also hope that they would continue learning and using the language after their formal studies as a way to enrich their lives. The foundation of all of this is for us as professionals to set a stage that is engaging and encouraging of a successful second language experience for all.

    Like

  2. Wow Carol, I’d forgotten entirely about Robert’s goals. I love what you wrote–I did include that I want my system to be truly standards-based and transparent, yet easy to use so that I don’t ditch it in the middle. I also wrote that now that I have finally understood that there is a huge difference between assessment and grading, I want to keep that clear. Then of course there are many different goals for assessment–whether a story comprehension check or a benchmark test, but I didn’t get into that.

    If others outside Alaska are interested in joining such a course or just getting in on the conversations, let me know and I can forward you information when it comes. Last year, our meetings took place from 4-5 Alaska time on Mondays. They were wonderfully Alaskan–the consensus being, first, that we have the information inside ourselves to share with others, and second, they move thoughtfully, letting people join in on the conversation at their own speed.

    Like

  3. “I want my system to be truly standards-based and transparent, yet easy to use so that I don’t ditch it in the middle.” That sounds great! I’m interested in getting in on the conversation. I just rewatched Scott Benedict’s webinar on proficiency-based grading. I’d definitely like to move in that direction.

    Like

  4. We’ll be finding out about that assessment course coming up soon here–I will keep updating this space as I find out more.

    In the meantime, check out this essay (attached in the first lines of the blog) by a third-year Math teacher.

    Like

  5. And on homework, read the same guy if you need support for not assigning it: http://blog.mrmeyer.com/?p=133

    Like

Leave a Reply

