SL and TPRS/The Book!

I have now re-watched the (4 hours and 45 minutes) of video our district has for Scaffolding Literacy, and kept being reminded about TPRS.

Commonalities:

Comprehensible input is key

Reducing student stress by not asking “gotcha” questions

Asking students questions we are sure they can answer

Repetition

Accepting student ideas

Genuinely applauding student answers and ideas; recasting if necessary

Chunking structures

Looking at grammar and word study as it affects meaning of the text.

Setting students up for success (they demonstrate the behaviors, and then say this out right).

Differentiation allows learners to appreciate the text at several levels (ELL, struggling readers, and gifted learners all benefit and enjoy SL).

Tweaking plans so that you are teaching the learners in front of you, wherever they are.

No need to buy a set of books or specific textbooks.

The ability to share love of language.

Going as slowly as necessary for the learners in the class.

Asking questions that have just been answered, while pointing at the answer.

Use visuals to support the story so that the entire class has the same picture in their heads. (Laurie is responsible for this idea in TPRS, but I was enthralled to hear Mary/Misty repeating it.)

There’s more, but I’m listing these for myself to remember them as the school year starts. I can’t wait to see my kids!!! (I am not thrilled about four days of inservice, except for the one where I’m doing one presentation with Betsy–on Embedded Reading for WL teachers– and one with Kelly–on standards-based grading for English teachers.)

PS: here’s the book M/M recommended at the end of the video:

Scaffolding Literacy: An Integrated and Sequential Approach to Teaching Reading, Spelling and Writing
Front Cover
5 responses to “SL and TPRS/The Book!

  1. You’re so observant MJ! One thing we talk about (in Misty’s class, which is now over btw) is ‘message abundancy’. Repetition of key vocabulary is encouraged. I have looked through some sites relating to TPRS and don’t fully understand the process but I notice some of these commonalities you mention. One I noticed is about limiting vocabulary in order to teach vocabulary. I’m not sure this is the same as limited CI but a similar gain is observed in the students. And yes SL also tries to set students up for success by focusing attention to the words the author has used and asking about the words on the page (that tell us about……… )

    That text is very good. Do you have it?

    Like

  2. I ordered it, and it should be here any day. I’m excited! Misty has been sending me lesson plans, so I’m absorbing a little more with each one, and I am thinking of how to use texts to the best effect. I had to admit to Misty that I begin to feel a bit inadequate as far as literature, when I read some of what you and your colleagues have done, but I also believe in the process as having the ability to teach me.

    Like

    • MJ please join ://scaffoldingliteracy.wikispaces.com/ and encourage others too as well. If you have had a look you will see it is in pre-fledgling state ie very early. We have not got our assignments back from Misty yet so no-one has posted any sequences yet. The sequences we all wrote for our assignments are with an EALD perspective.

      EALD= English as an Additional Lanuage or Dialect

      Like

  3. I can’t find any…

    I did join it!!! I am delighted to be a part of this group of people.

    Like

Leave a Reply

