Partners/Tickets out

OMG…these things are working SOOO well! (I know, it’s only the second day, so it’s honeymoon time, but it’s SO much fun!)

I had my beginning Russian students read the first two parts of an embedded reading today. It was from what we did yesterday. It started with about seven sentences:

This is the class.

This is Murphy.

This is Jordan.

This is Victoria.

and so on. We had already repeated all those kids’ names and had the class wave to them (another Laurie reminder), and now we were “reading” them, in Cyrillic.

The next level was:

This is the class. Hooray!

This is Murphy. Murphy was in Hawaii.

This is Jordan. Jordan also was in Hawaii.

We PQA’d for most of the period about what had happened yesterday (we had about nine new kids, so they had to be brought in slowly). Then I handed out the reading, which had sentences in separate lines, thanks to Laurie’s wisdom. (Laurie pointed out that moving the sentences into paragraph form makes it go up a level of difficulty.)

The kids followed my reading by putting a finger on every word as I read. I walked around, making sure of that process. Then the class as a whole read it in English, keeping their fingers there. Finally, partners read it to each other. Two kids really wanted to read it to the class, so after some wheedling, I let them. Then we added the word “also,” came up with a gesture, and the students gestured every word as I read the next part to them. Then they followed with their fingers on every word, and repeated the process. I’m totally amazed. I was keeping a watch on my two lowest SpEd kids, and they were just as into the reading as the rest of them were. All I can say is, “Wow.”

And in my advanced class, where we have told the story of the journalist and the lion up to where the journalist is on the bookshelf because there is a lion in the room, I tried the ticket out thing. Every kid told a piece of the story, and even my very weak level 2 (who are listed as level 3, but oh well) could do a piece. They were impressed with themselves.

Oh…partners: that class had to earlier gesture a complex sentence to each other. It was: “C would want to eat L, but he only likes to eat up small children, and L is normal-sized, so therefore he didn’t want to eat her.” Can you tell that I’m working on subjunctive as always? I also felt that sentence was great for grammar, fun to gesture, and worth having input a number of times. Just a brain break and a respite for me being in front of the class, and it only takes a couple of minutes. That forces me to stop filling up their heads.

The other class got to do, “C is afraid of his sister, because she beats him up with a penguin.” We were having so much fun with the family, firing actors, and figuring out what they were beating people up with that we never got to the tic-tac-toe get acquainted on what people are afraid of. Maybe tomorrow.

In unfortunate news, the “counter” in the advanced class counted 135 words that I said in English. Yesterday, she counted only nine. Going to improve.

4 responses to “Partners/Tickets out

  1. Can you tell me about the tickets – ticket out? I must have missed one of your blogs.
    Thanks for the reminder that we can do embedded readings ANY time.
    My kids come next week..I’m still sorting out what I want to do with each of the 4 levels of French.
    Thanks for writing what YOU are doing.

    Like

  2. “Exit ticket” is kind of a phrase that I always thought meant having a piece of paper with an idea or answer written on it to give to the teacher to get out of the room. That just gave me more pieces of paper to grade and respond to. Never liked it.

    When I watched Betsy last semester, I saw a whole new twist on it. She stood all the kids up toward the end of the period, gave them a task related to what they were just doing, and then each one had to do it before leaving. I asked another teacher down the hall about that, because then I saw her do it too. I like it for those advanced kids, because it means they have to think back through the story/reading/PQA and report on it. They’re brief, and it’s really kind of like telling the class story one more time, but it holds them accountable.

    Betsy was doing this with first-years, who could come up with an amazing amount of Japanese. (Her first-years are the ones who have to be stopped from talking more than five minutes at finals, so I like to try to copy whatever I see her do or hear about her doing.)

    As with everything else, I don’t want it to be the same more than a couple weeks in a row.

    I haven’t yet started with jokes from Bryce!! I have to do that! But at least I’m going with the songs right away.

    It’s so hard to remember everything I had intended to do now. Pictures. Songs. Embedded readings. Partners. Tickets out. Scaffolding Literacy. Aren’t we lucky we get a new day every day to try this stuff?

    Like

  3. I love your last line. We ARE blessed to be teaching via TPRS and to be part of such a great community.
    I’m going to keep in mind, that when it comes down to it, it’s just slow, sweet Mommy talk (like to an 18 month old)

    Like

  4. Reading on day 1?!! Whodathunkit?!! Smiling from ear to ear over here!!!!
    with love,
    Laurie

    Like

Leave a Reply

