Independent Study

Things are going well in many ways, but I’m getting dragged down by a bunch of kids who want to have me for Independent Study Russian. The schedule is not very cooperative! In the old days, I could do IS because I just handed kids a book and helped them get through it in my lunch periods. Now I can’t really claim to “teach” them outside class. I still hate to have kids miss the chance to take the language though. I would try to film every class, but that’s time-consuming, even if I could get a kid to set up–it’s also eventually costly, if I’m saving to a DVD.

Does your district/school allow IS? If so, how do you handle it?

Leave a Reply

