Carol Gaab’s elementary word list

I attended Carol’s elementary session and was struck by how that much young learners are like our older ones. Carol pointed out that the usual elementary lessons have limited time, so they absolutely must concentrate on these key words:

goes/went

likes/liked

eats/ate

wants/wanted

needs/needed

has/had

is able/could

sees/saw

there is/there was

says/said

looks for/looked for

It occurs to me that these are the words I need to be teaching every group first, whether they’re elementary or not.

3 responses to “Carol Gaab’s elementary word list

  1. Great list. I just copied it down and am incorporating it into my German I phrases for the next week. Missed a couple there.

    Like

  2. Yeah…I’m looking at my list of 200 and thinking I need to rearrange some things. In fact, these basically need to be in every story for every group.

    Like

  3. forever and ever, amen–cuz that’s how long it really takes for them to get them. really looking forward to more notes–love these posts, mj

    Like

Leave a Reply

