TPRS fun with Props

This just in from RK! I would love to have been a fly on the wall for this story, and I wish a couple of things: that I had better props, and that I knew better what to do with them once I had them. This is obviously going to be the highlight of these kids’ week.

4 responses to “TPRS fun with Props

  1. I think you’ve got nothing to worry about! Your stories sound so creative and original!

    I have been collecting odd things for many years. It’s just something that has always interested me. For recommendations I find things at yard sales, Goodwill, Value Village among others and rarely pay much over a dollar or two for anything. Halloween is a great time of year for props since after Halloween there are lots of odds and ends on sale everywhere. In my room I have boxes and bins under a table in the front of the room. I let my actors choose from masks, wigs, hats, glasses, flowers, animal ears as well as cheese, a microphone, butterfly head, a sword, the ever popular foam guitar, a knights helmet etc. etc. They have fun with it. The props help direct some of the plot but we try to go outside the box still. The costumes (at least in my class) up the attention level of the entire class. They love watching their peers looking silly and being funny. They become very engaged!

    They begged me to break the rules so they could get out their phones to take a picture of our actors. I just felt so much love for them when I saw this shot that I wanted to share that good feeling!

    Like

    • I have a few props (including an Elvis mask like the one on your student!) – well, about four boxes of them – but I never really use them well.

      I’m going to have to bring them in as a spring fever buster.

      Do the kids pick and that’s how the story gets directed? I was thinking that a person could hang props up and tell them to try to work them into the current story.

      Like

  2. Props can be great fun and helpful. But, when they get lost in the prop and aren’t focused on the CI it has to end. So, you find your balance.
    I’ve been doing this story for a play we are doing at Friday Sing this week. Every week for 6 weeks we’ve seen an egg. We’ve colored eggs, we’ve hid eggs, we’ve rolled eggs–eggsactly! My middle schoolers know eggs. My youngest students have no idea if I am not holding an egg or making the sign as to what that word means. Oh well.

    Like

    • That’s funny, Kate. It sounds like the moment I had a month or two ago when kids thought the word “I have” meant “In” because of the way we were gesturing it. It’s a little frustrating!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

