A Dramatic Surprise

I used this video in class today. It’s a little bit violent, so couldn’t be used with all age levels, but someone posted it on FB last night, and I had to use it for Friday silliness.

We pre-told and acted it out for twenty minutes; there’s a big red button on a small quiet square in Belgium. [A kid’s hat becomes the button.] There is a sign above the big red button that says, “Push if you want drama.” [Everyone looks at the sign and chants, “Drama, drama, we want drama!”] A cyclist rides up and looks at the sign and at the button. He pushes the button. Suddenly there is a siren! A first aid truck pulls up and a doctor opens the door…

You get the idea. Nearly the whole class had roles in this drama (they were cars, football players, doctors, gangsters, patients, sounded the siren or made the motorcycle sounds), and we kept re-running it (especially to repeat the ample verbs of motion) until they had it right and crazy. One class did a fast write to retell it while the video loaded.

3 responses to “A Dramatic Surprise

  1. Thanks for the video! I’ve been sick 😦 and lazy during my spring break so I’m playing catch-up with my e-mail tonight (there were only about a dozen or two interesting posts:) but this one tops them all! I don’t think that it will suit for the first day back – too much drama – but I’ll think of a Thu-Fri string of things to do. Especially since most of my classes LOVE to have someone die at the end!

    Like

  2. My students are officially mad at me because I’ve stretched this video into THREE days and they are too impatient to know what happens. We’ve done the set-up and split the events in half using pictures from the video. Many of them found it and viewed it on their own but that’s ok, because I can still milk it to teach past tenses. I know it’s a big undertaking, but each level has its own focus. I just love when I can use one resource to teach all of my classes!! May be we’ll dramatize it on Friday:)

    Like

    • And here I thought I was a genius for stretching it over most of a class period! I’m with you on the multi-level thing. The other night, I put up all the verbs of motion in Russian to rehearse it with my adults: arrives by vehicle, arrives by foot, arrives by running, drives away, runs away, walks away…it took up most of the class in the beginner group, and then we started with the story in the intermediate group, before we got to our reading…which then featured all those same verbs, to my delight. I hadn’t noticed them before. (That’s when I know for sure that something is high-frequency.)

      I am grateful to whoever put it on Facebook for me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

