On-line Library

Yee-haw! I’d been ignoring the posts on other sites about this Children’s Library because I’d gone there and thought the “Russian” books were in Arabic.

Turns out that there are a bunch of books in Russian and other languages too, and the site is free. We have a lab day coming up, and I’m going to think about setting up a little scavenger hunt for kids to find particular books (and their titles) in Russian so that they explore the site some.

(We’re also going to be practicing the procedures for our on-line final. We have only four weeks of school left.)

And PS to my beloved students…there’s nothing secret here! You are welcome to read about (what I think) we’re doing and make any comments you wish.

8 responses to “On-line Library

  1. Here’s a link to a quizlet quiz that I made up in Nathan style (I think) for checking vocabulary comprehension.

    And here’s the (rather too long) scavenger hunt I made up in time for today’s lessons, thanks to my post-school board-meeting creative cramming with Marcia and Diana. You’ll see that I made up questions for three levels’ worth of kids. I might come back in and let teams do this for prizes.

    Like

  2. I use Quizlet mainly for vocab/grammar practice. How do you use it for, well, quizzes? Btw, I do like including sentences as it provides context and additional reading practice. I have to admit, it was funny to listen to computer generated Russian:)

    Something that I found recently and decided to give it a try is JUNO https://junoed.com for on-line quizzes (questions in a variety of formats the way you want them, including media – pictures, links, audio; and it even grades it for you!) Can’t wait to test it out tomorrow with two of my classes. It is in Beta mode and is free for now. Check it out, they have a nice demo video there.

    Like

    • Yeah, the computer-generated voice isn’t exactly right, but at least it’s there!

      To give a quiz there, I give them specific directions: open up the “Test” window. Then unclick (writing, or whatever other options you don’t like…I don’t like true/false much) and switch the prompts if needed. Then I have them enter a specific number of questions. In one class, we have 48 vocabulary words, and I ask them to use 45. That makes every test slightly different. Then they click on “reconfigure,” and start testing. When they are finished, they hit “submit” and raise their hands so that I can come around and see their scores. I’m circulating anyway, so it’s not a problem. Sometimes they take the test three or four times, and sometimes they practice at home. Fine with me!

      I have a Quia account, because I didn’t know about junoed, but I’ll have to check that out. I really like not having to grade tests and having some options for letting kids retake.

      Thanks for the new tip!

      Like

  3. I agree with you on the voice thing. It’s nice to have that option and many of my students like to do the Speller because it does give them voice prompts.

    Juno was a success. We had some issues getting on the network with our portable Mac Lab, but once they logged in, there were almost no problems. The thing I really like is how grading is set up. Say, you chose to grade a short or long answer question yourself (which to me seems to be the only reasonable option), you see all the answers at once for that particular question and students’ names are hidden (you can click and see them individually, if you so chose). This gives me a snap shot of what they acquired and what are the common issues so we can work on them later. It also removes any expectations because you don’t see students’ names.

    The set-up was easy and clean (unlike bunch of other sites that I looked at). I even talked my IT director into installing Firefox in our PC language lab because Juno only runs on certain browsers which includes iPods and iPhones by the way. Highly recommend.

    Like

    • Hmmm…maybe I’ll have to try it. I have already paid for Quia for the year. Have you ever tried that? I’d love a comparison. I guess I could get on Juno and try setting up one of the same tests that I do on Quia…if I have time!

      Like

  4. I don’t use Quia because I figured it was not worth the investment. However, after I looked around the Internet, $50 doesn’t seem as bad as some other on-line quiz and activity -making sites want to charge you. Do you feel that you use it often enough?

    I did snoop around your page 🙂 and won the verbs of motion quiz… from the third time once I started paying attention to ALL available answers! Felt like a kid: but I know this! I guess, yes, but not really. Quia does have an advantage of offering all those game-like activities. May be I should look into it more for next year. Do you think it’s worth the money you spend on it?

    And as far as grading, does it only show you students’ scores? In Juno, I can see each student’s “paper” electronically with their answers, of course; it also does item analysis for you; or gives a list of scores.

    Juno is free now as it is still in Beta testing mode. The site says that it might start charting about the same $50 or less. Here, if you want, you can be my fictitious student that I created to test it out myself. Log on as “Zsam” and “password” as password. There is an activity for you that my students did. Since it’s a quiz it will only allow you to view/work on it once and it will not tell you the correct answers like a practice activity would.

    Like

    • I like Quia because I can set it up so that only my kids can get to a test during a specific period; I can make it so that anyone can, too (not that my quizzes always would make sense to a stranger), as you found out. I can make the quizzes open for a specific time period (locking finals, for example, to that two-hour time period when we’re administering them). The sound file part is a bit unwieldy; I wish they’d improve that, and I can’t really get images to work for me.

      All that aside, yes, I can see each student’s score and grade the written parts if I want, and get analysis for each question so that I can throw out the ones that a bunch of kids flopped on.

      I don’t know whether I use it often enough over the course of a year to justify it. I know some of my kids go there for homework, but I use it a lot as we approach finals, both so that kids can practice and so that at least my final is immediately graded. I like to do the final a couple days in advance of the exam day for TPRS classes so that we can do a last story and oral presentation on finals day.

      Like

  5. Juno does the same thing as far as making it available to students only at the particular time. You chose when to start and stop it: put it on-line as the kids walk in the door and take it off when the last person is done (that can be done by period and individually). You can also set up a time limit for an activity/test if you wish.

    You do have to copy and paste your kids to the program. They are issued a temporary code that they use to log in for the first time and create their own user name and password.

    I have not tried to upload audio files, but pictures were a piece of cake to throw in there. You can always do links as well.

    From what I see, both Juno and Quia have their own merits and issues, as always. At least, there’s an option. I’ll be contemplating using on-line tests for my finals as well.The less paper, the better. Faster grading is a considerable perk; however, I include a lot of free answers in my exams and practically no traditional multiple choice, so we’ll see.

    Happy Friday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

