Monday happiness

It’s a Monday. I feel as though until now we haven’t been in the full swing of a new school year, but today we started by figuring out who was wearing the “Spirit Week” “mud puddle” (rain gear) outfits. Then I asked who was going to be wearing what in one day on Tuesday, in two days on Wednesday and so on. The intermediate/advanced classes have had some time period structures the last two weeks. They didn’t even blink when I used them. It was nice to see that there are probably enough reps on time phrases, and we could move to the next structures. I told the kids about falling into the lake on Saturday, and they told me about their various misadventures. At the last moment in the advanced class, we got to talk about our caterer who earns 150,000 rubles a month in Moscow. She’s pretty impressive! But in both classes, the period was over way too fast. I don’t think it’s fair that time seems shorter when you’re having fun.

In my beginner group, I launched right into asking about last week’s story, and then explained that we were going to go on with another video today because of technology issues.

Once again, I was purely amazed. I LOVE MovieTalk! The kids are engaged by the video, and they are ready to answer questions (I showed them the first six minutes before we re-ran it and talked about it). We worked in all three of our new structures for the week already. (It’s adorable, by the way, if anyone wants to go watch “Crocodile Gena,” the first one in the Cheburashka series. There are sweet lines that my kids quote later…” Crocodile Gena worked in the zoo as a crocodile.”)

I asked them to register their comprehension level, and got a couple of “7’s” but mostly 10’s. They are very loud, cohesive, and confident in answering, so I was pretty sure that they felt good. I’m not sure when or how to do quizzes to check up on this, but should probably remember to save time at the end of the day to do them as usual. But the period ends too soon.

It’s startling how often one ends up repeating the various words by pausing and telling what’s visible in the scene, as well as what is happening or remembering what’s about to happen. Because of the story line, we got a number of vocabulary words in that I’d never have introduced to first-year kids this early: the salesman, sells, carries. The “salesman” doesn’t have a name, so I can’t use that to make it less of a burden, but on the other hand, the kids just have to hear and let it go by. They don’t have to say it. On the OTHER hand, when I asked, “Why is the store closed?” one of my little first-year kids said, “The store is closed because the salesman is going to the zoo with Cheburashka.” Talk about falling off my feet. I told him that he had to go home and say that to his mom, because I want proof from another adult that he can say that long a sentence in Russian. I was expecting, “going to the zoo.”

Gotta grade notebooks now.

Leave a Reply

