AFLA 2012

Start the stopwatch…ten minutes, max!

I am home from AFLA and dead tired, while being simultaneously completely wired and conference-happy.

We had The Stephen Krashen and some other national figures I’ll tell you about later. We had standing room only in some TPRS-strand sessions, and lots and lots of people in coaching. It was wonderful to feel like Alaskan presenters had found their strong voices at last.

I didn’t get to hear Martina and Victoria do their intro to TPRS, but I certainly heard a lot of people deciding to try out TPRS after having attended it. Then I got to hear Betsy do her comprehension check workshop by teaching us Japanese. Hurrah! I missed that eight different times last summer, so it was a long wait.

One big takeaway: Betsy reminded me of a Susie tactic that she had tweaked. We had successfully read about Katniss (etc) in Japanese. She had us draw pictures of what we could understand (all of it!!) and then one person sat with back to the projected text and tell the partner the story. The partner read from the screen and supported the teller. Then they switched places. Each partner thought he/she was getting something out of talking, but the person really getting the input was the one doing the reading, comparing that to what the speaker said, and adding help as needed. I had completely forgotten that, and I’ve never done it with the picture piece.

Betsy is a great brain.

And then I went to Martina’s presentation on cultural units in the TPRS classroom. She posted her slides and all other handouts that people gave her on the AFLA website (click here).

I can’t tell you about Martina’s, because my head is still spinning. She laid out a unit lesson writing plan for us with such a complex PPT that my brain couldn’t decide what to concentrate on because both pieces were genius. Just go look at it, and then get your school district to fly Martina down to present.

While you’re at it, invite Betsy. Everyone, including me, was running to the Japanese speakers in the room to show them how much we could say at the end of the workshop. Betsy could not stop us from trying out our Japanese. I’m sure her kids don’t want to leave her classroom. It was hysterical seeing that many adults acting like elementary kids. “Look at me!”

Success like that feels so good that I’m sure it’s part of why so many conference attendees have written to be on my mailing list. They all want to know more!

That’s all for now. You have way too much to read if you open up that page! Go to sleep! (That was for me.)

And have a great week!

4 responses to “AFLA 2012

  1. Can you please post the link to AFLA? Gracias!

    Like

    • I guess that was a bit unclear…click on the link (blue underline) in the post, and you’ll find it. Martina is a wonderful webmaster for our state association!

      Like

  2. Some of my kids just drew pictures today! I am so using this tomorrow! I wish New Jersey were closer to Alaska. Sounds like a successful .

    Like

    • The kids really like it, and it gives the teacher a break from being on stage. The only thing I forgot was that I didn’t have kids read through it in English first to make sure that they understood. I think it might also be fun to have them read quietly and gesture a story in total silence first. The only sound could be any translation questions.

      Like

Leave a Reply

