Grammar checks

Martina and I talked about creating a template for grammar points that a teacher could use to glance at from time to time and make sure that the class was hearing specific structures regularly enough. We thought about a little check-form that one could do on-line every day.

We still haven’t made it, and while I still think it’s a good idea in principle, it would probably fall by the wayside for me. We were plotting that in the summer, when I for one always forget what real life is like at school. I was thinking about that today as I tried to remember which class I’m grading today and post the grades (I do a week’s worth of one or two classes three or four days a week; keeps it manageable), as well as to do attendance, the computer lab update, my email, the online reports of the AP kids’ work, and so on. There are so many places I have to check each day, as well as two or three that I like to visit, that adding another one is not really a positive move for me.

I do think it would be useful for me to look down a grammar-style list and use it to understand where I am focusing and where I’m missing pieces. I just haven’t gotten to it yet.

Leave a Reply

