MovieTalk practice

I have lately been timing myself with MovieTalk and finding that it had been taking me a very long time to get through a very short piece of film. I have had kids zoning out on me when I talk too much about what’s on screen, and today I told them what the goal was. We set the timer for half an hour, and I planned to go from minute 18 to 28 in 30 minutes. At about 15 minutes, one young man pointed out that we had covered two minutes’ worth of film, so I picked up the pace, and was able to almost meet the goal in the next time period. Then one of my kids said that he was understanding 8.5 out of 10, instead of not getting very much. Hurrah…I guess that when I spend too much time, it gets less and less connected to what’s on the screen.

Leave a Reply

