Summer Book Club

The latest book that I’m reading is the result of having bullied a former student into using TPRS and MovieTalk as she goes to teach English to park rangers and children in the village in the Commander Islands. (May I say that I’m incredibly impressed by her having found funding, sponsors, and a project that will tie into her senior thesis, but that story is a separate one.)

We traded books. I loaned her my “Green Bible”–the most recent edition of Blaine Ray’s book on TPRS–and she loaned me a book that her boss at the World Wildlife Foundation gave the entire staff: Switch: How to Change Things When Change is Hard, by Chip and Dan Heath. I’m about a third of the way in, and I’m loving it.

This book has all sorts of implications for how we can effect change in all areas of life, from student behavior to dying cities. I am tempted to call my student’s boss and ask if I can sit in on some of their office discussions of the read! I think that the ideas may help me to improve my teaching and the way I work with others in and out of school. I just need to talk about them with someone! If anyone decides to read this who is also going to Dallas in August, please let’s find a time to talk.

5 responses to “Summer Book Club

  1. I put it on my Goodreads list. I wish I were going to Dallas, but if you’re coming to iFLT in San Diego then let’s talk!

    Here is a link to an interesting Ted talk by an educator on this topic, and he even starts his talk saying “I’m going to tell you a couple stories….” 🙂

    http://m.youtube.com/#/watch?v=ebJHzpEy4bE&desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DebJHzpEy4bE

    Like

  2. Oops, I did this on a mobile device. Take off the m before the YouTube part of the link to see the whole page:
    http://youtube.com/#/watch?v=ebJHzpEy4bE&desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DebJHzpEy4bE

    Like

    • Thanks! I will watch it…sorry that I won’t be in San Diego this time, only Dallas. I have a vanity athletic competition (I’m rowing in Masters World Games), and I couldn’t cut into my practice time too much!

      Like

  3. This was the book that we didn’t talk about 🙂 Do you have anything to share from it?

    Like

    • Aargh!! I can’t believe I forgot. I’m going to have to go home and get it out again. Too much good food in Italy interfered with my memory.

      Like

Leave a Reply

