Game day

As planned, I allotted minutes for games in my room. Bryce Hedstrom’s notes say that these games should not require extra work for the teacher. Today’s game was Word Race, so I set the clock to go off when the number of minutes left was for games. I asked the kids to tell me in English words they knew in Russian. They stood back from the board in two groups. I would say the word in English, and they had to race to spell it in Russian. It was crazy! I found out how much they’d picked up (or were able to use resources in the form of posters). I’m going to do as Bryce suggested and be in charge of which games we play for the first six weeks or so, and then I’ll start offering a certain degree of choice and the option to have class members lead the games. 

Leave a Reply

