Lab day/Embedded reading

It was lab day in Russian 1 as well as in the intermediate class yesterday. The beginners had four different tasks on their Edmodo class site.

The first two were to click on links in the “Beginners” column of my class website page, just to explore what they might be able to do there, and report back to me about what they liked and didn’t like.

Then they had to re-read two of our class stories and send me ideas for tweaking the stories. One of the stories was the cat and mice story.

The suggestions were lots of fun: the mice tease the cat, the mom takes too long to see the cat, the mom and the cat go to Taco Bell, it’s a snake instead of a cat, the cat eats the mice, the mice get revenge, and so on.

I wrote about five different, increasingly lengthy, versions of the story, expanding slowly with some new adjectives and verb structures that I wanted them to have while incorporating more and more of their ideas.

Ordinarily, we put some time and different activities between story versions. I did have them read, answer my questions, translate by groups and pairs. I didn’t have them act anything out. That’s for tomorrow: they’ll read and gesture each word possible in groups of three.

Instead of putting days or at least major activities in between the versions, we pretty much read straight through, because once they saw some classmates’ ideas in the text, they wanted to find out whether I used all of their ideas (couldn’t, quite honestly!) and pressured me to keep reading.

Since when does that happen?!

Leave a Reply

