Halloween in Russia

Thanks to Natalia, who sent me a bunch of great links on St. Petersburg, I was able to go searching on my own to find out whether there was any Halloween celebration in “Piter,” as the Russians call it. I found plenty of ads for all sorts of activities, including one that promised to teach children to make poisonous candies…we had a great time reading those! The assignment for this week is to choose one of those places to “visit,” get pictures if possible, and then tell what they did there. We’ve done a story on dressing up for Halloween (Ben Slavic’s from Jim Tripp: Two years ago, X wanted to be a ___. His mother said, he couldn’t be a ___. He had to be a ___. One year ago…) so they should be really good on dressing up.They have to report where they went, who was there, how they were dressed, what they did, how they liked it, and what they ate. Hope no one will get sick! This is really just a repeat of the weekend report, but it requires reading and researching a place in Russia. I’m excited to read what they do…they’re going to be in the lab for a short period on Friday, which means that I won’t have to deal with the candy highs in the same way I would in class. Instead, they can put all that excess energy into typing quickly and accurately.

This report will be part of their ongoing portfolio about their virtual move to St. Petersburg. The kids will include a map and at least a link to the website on the slide(s) about the adoption and adaptation of this American holiday in Russia. At New Year’s, we’ll do something similar, but then they’ll be able to compare the holidays.

2 responses to “Halloween in Russia

  1. Either the world changed dramatically or I got really old. Neither is a good choice here:) I suppose, I should explain… When I was growing up, even when I graduated from college (15 years ago or so), no one in the middle of Siberia heard of Halloween, unless they were involved in language learning. Not even talking about costumes, parties and celebrations! Any costume wearing was reserved for New Years children’s parties/programs; very appropriate costumes, I have to add.

    Like

    • I feel sorry about this change too…I remember how when a group came to visit at Halloween time, I overheard the teacher explaining that this was the American New Year. Every time we have exchange students, they’re incredibly excited about Halloween–more so than our kids–and unfortunately, there’s no way it can live up to their expectations. A current one is in the midst of the mid-year American-experience angst, so I’m hoping she doesn’t crash too hard when tomorrow isn’t all she’s hoping for.

      Like

Leave a Reply

