Geography

I was on Musicuentos yesterday and happened across a tip to try GeoGuessr. It’s a site that works on our slow network and aging machines! (Technology is wonderful until it starts breaking down all the time.)

I spent the last few minutes in every class today playing with this site. It’s easy to do in the target language. “What do we see here? Palm trees, water, green grass…it looks like an island! It looks warm. I don’t see any mountains. Where do you think it is?” It seems as though many of the sites are in Brazil, Canada, the US and Australia, so it got easier for me over the course of the day. (One was in Russia.) Kids were able to say, “I think…” “It looks like…” “There are mountains, so maybe it’s …” I required students to argue for the site they wanted me to pick.

2 responses to “Geography

  1. Can’t wait to get back to school to try this!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

