Advanced: final project

I let a lot of time go by between our monthly (April?) TPRS meeting at Jitters and this note. We talked about assessments and finals, and everyone shared what was happening in their classes. It was a pleasure to see everyone!

I promised I would send out the rubric for my advanced class’s oral final. I’ve tweaked it some with my kids; we came up with a check-off sheet rather than a rubric. They have to have a certain number of very limited grammar points correct, and the rest just has to be understandable.

The conceit of the final is a ten-year class reunion. The kids have to bring at least two pictures for each topic area and cover all the different pieces on the rubric. They will tell other kids their stories while snacking on potluck items. I haven’t decided whether I’m really going to try to listen to every piece from every single kid, or whether I will let them carry around a second rubric for other students to mark off, while I mark at least the grammar and one topic area from each student. In the past, I’ve found it fairly easy to listen to two or three kids at once because they’re all talking in groups.

The seniors’ finals went well. They presented their ten-year speeches to the entire class. One student had forgotten to get any pictures, so he used a presentation some other students had made of cute animals and had to work his entire talk around those pictures. It was quite entertaining, and he was very successful, but his presentation served as a warning to those who might otherwise think they don’t need to plan.

Here’s the link to the “rubric.” 

I told the kids that they have to ask questions of their classmates and respond to what they hear with interest, but I’m not going to be able to grade that.

I will have them all write as part of the final: they’ll write up some of their own story and some of one of their classmates’ stories. They’ll have the same grammar requirements and they’ll need to cover at least two topic areas completely in the written piece.

Grading: could a sympathetic native speaker understand the speech and writing. If so, they’re good to go!
2 responses to “Advanced: final project

  1. Michele,
    This rubric and project looks great. Helps affirm for me that I’ll be doing something similar (but different) with my kids as the year winds down.

    Have to share what happened in my classes today. I had found some drawings (on large sheets of paper) with a short story about one of the students that we had written last year. I handed out the pix with one or two sentences each to each table and they had to have one member of their team go up to the front of the room and put them into a logical order.

    Next another member of each team ( I have 9 tables of 2-3 students each so those were the teams) came and held up the story as volunteers read and we commented and questioned. Then they had to change the story from present tense to past by taking turns going up to each panel of the story and reporting it back to their team as in Jason’s running dictation (sort of). They took turns writing or dictating They dictated the sentence/s but changed the tense as they did so. It was so cool! Everyone was moving around and everyone was speaking the language and helping each other get their structures correct. I’m sort of a low tech kind of gal (I mean, I use PP and film and music all the time but also love to use hand made stuff like student art work!) so this was just so groovy and so much fun. Yeah!

    Sorry for the long post but had to share! Thanks for giving me a place to share this. It was a good day. I feel great! Thanks as always for all of your inspiration and sharing!

    Like

    • This post makes me feel very happy for you, and for the fact that the kids at the end of the year start to take some control over their own learning. It’s also a great way to recycle pictures and words from earlier. Susie used to tell me that she stored pictures and stories from particular units of study, so when the next class hit that set of vocabulary, she could pull out old stories and drawings. I don’t have units or a textbook, so that’s my excuse for lack of organization, but it’s not a good one! I think you were rocking! Sometimes it really is “Teach for June,” as Scott says.

      Like

Leave a Reply

