NTPRS14 Promises and why we should keep telling stories

I am researching storytelling and the brain today. By Googling “Stories and the Brain,” I have run into many compelling reasons to use stories in our classrooms. Here is just one, from Jan Hills:

“So the next time you want to influence … or are struggling with getting people on board with your projects and ideas, tell them a story that has an ending which is what you had in mind. … Stories are a powerful way to plant ideas into other people’s minds.”

But that was after I checked my email and found many messages all politely mentioning my promise to put links up after my presentations at NTPRS14. Mea culpa!

Note: Another presenter was using my slides as her own in another state. Viewers must ask permission to use my work and give me credit when doing so, whether for monetary gain or not.

PDL presentation

MovieTalk presentation

Embedded Reading site (if this link doesn’t work, look over to the right sidebar and find it under websites. I can’t make it work tonight for some reason)

Laurie has our recent Embedded Reading presentation and much more there. She keeps an awesome site going. Contribute your own Embedded Readings!

Alma video

Audi Superbowl Prom Date video

Anna Koshmal video  (Without you, I am…)

For more video suggestions, click on the “MovieTalk” category in the right sidebar.

13 responses to “NTPRS14 Promises and why we should keep telling stories

  1. Dear Michele, I am so glad you presented PDL. I think it atleast gets people thinking. I found it very helpful.  Thank you Anu

    El Martes 29 de julio de 2014 15:08, mjTPRS escribió:

    WordPress.com MJ posted: “I am researching storytelling and the brain today. By Googling “Stories and the Brain,” I have run into many compelling reasons to use stories in our classrooms. Here is just one, from Jan Hills: “So the next time you want to influence … or are strug”

    Like

    • Hello Michele:) Ready your comments makes me so happy! I am intrigued by The Head Heart and Brain link, but cannot open it in Chrome or Firefox. Anyone else having this problem?

      Like

      • I just did a search and came up with this link:
        http://www.headheartbrain.com/once-upon-a-time-stories-and-your-brain/

        I can’t tell whether that’s the one I embedded or not. Try it out, okay? Maybe just copy and paste it into the browser. Otherwise, google Jan Hills, who has a lot of articles on that website, “HeadHeartBrain,” and when you get there, search for “stories and your brain.”

        Hope that works! I don’t know why these things go funny sometimes. But I’m very glad you let me know!

        Like

  2. And I am still delighted that you came and that we met! I am grateful to have had the chance to connect with you and others who are working so hard to improve how we teach our children.

    Like

  3. Your slides on PDL have me very curious. So sorry I could not learn more about this fascinating philosophy!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Movie Talk and Embedded Reading: More from NTPRS 14 | Embedded Reading

  5. Hi…I was trying to access the link for the MovieTalk Presentation mentioned above, but it seems to be locked and I get an “error” notice. Is there a better way to see this presentation, or another? I’m new to Movie Talk (just tried it out today!) and want to learn more.

    Thanks,
    Sue

    Like

    • Sue,
      I tried it myself and couldn’t get in; then I worked on the Sharing options and re-linked it. Then I could get in (having signed out of google docs). Try again and see. If not, let me know and I’ll just add you to the individuals who can view.

      Like

      • Yes, it’s working now…where is the best place to find videos for MT with elementary school aged students? Also, is there a good Youtube out there to see someone using MT with this age?? I’m very interested in learning this technique!

        Sue

        Like

      • You might be the first to try it with elementary! Ashley Hastings developed MovieTalk, using full-length feature films to teach listening to ESL students who came to the US for college, so we were “pioneers” a couple of years ago in high school, and it’s been working down the age range. I would suggest looking at the category here for clip ideas. If you taught Russian, I’d say go look at the Masha i Medved’ series on YouTube. They’re very cute, and it is true that teachers of other languages use them. They’re about six minutes long, meaning that I can MovieTalk them in 18 minutes, if I’m sticking to the schedule. They’re also linked, so similar themes and vocabulary will keep coming up.

        Wordless videos, like Simon’s Cat and Shaun the Sheep, are excellent.

        You’re going to have to be the one filming!

        Like

      • Thanks for the reply. I’m sure that there are other elementary folks out there who are MT’ing 🙂

        I am in the middle of using El Pez y El Gato, the very short clip advertising the benefit of learning another language. I’m sure I’m doing a combination of things, and probably not at all according to best practice, but I have to start somewhere! What did you mean by “I would suggest looking at the category here for clip ideas.” What category? Where?

        Thanks!
        Sue

        Like

      • Sorry! The web pages have taken over the sidebar. Scroll way down and look at the MovieTalk category on the right sidebar.

        Like

  6. Isn’t there a video of Martina doing MT with her younger kids. Something about a garage door opening? Maybe it’s a song or something? Sorry I can’t remember! But, check her website and maybe you can find it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

