On attention spans

The other day, I was walking with a dear friend whom I hadn’t seen in at least a month. My phone buzzed, and it was all I could do to not look at it to find out who had sent me a message. Since I’ve been researching attention span to be able to support what I’d like to say in an upcoming presentation, I have found some thought-provoking blogs and articles that helped me understand myself better.

 This first link makes me wonder whether I can convince high school kids to turn off their cell phones entirely, perhaps with the promise of turning them on part-way into our 85-minute lessons.

Take-away quote: “Hence a wealth of information creates a poverty of attention.”

This post has some infographics I’d like to share with students. I’m hoping I can find them in Russian.

 And this one shares some ways to combat lack of attention span…all besides #5 being the ones that Storytelling teachers do naturally!

This last link gives me a lot of suggestions for my next presentation, suggesting more of what we do but also how to keep a PowerPoint interesting. Strangely enough, because the page is formatted in such old-fashioned font, without pictures, I had a harder time reading to the end. Format does matter for me, at least. I’m going to think more about how I present my work if I have time to make fancy additions.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

