Beginners!

We were all buzzing (briefly) about what we’re planning to do the first day(s) of school at our state conference meeting today.

I’m going to think about beginners for just a few minutes.

I have a lot of pictures of the kids now, and I’m sure I’ll get more as time goes on and they realize they should send them to me. We’re going to use those to compare who has a dog, who was fishing, who was in the mountains and so on. It’s going to be a CWB (circling with balls) activity in every class, a chance to connect or reconnect.

A lot of the first two weeks will be dealing with routines: where to put the backpacks, where the chairs go when we’re facing the front or the side, how to respond to unexpected adults and planned visitors (stand up for the first, welcome the latter and get a chair), what to do with comp books in the beginning and end of class, what to do at the beginning of class, where to find classroom information, how to behave during storytelling. I have my rules posted, and we’ll have the comp book boxes all ready for filling.

In the beginning class, I always hit children’s songs heavy for the first weeks, since the vocabulary will come up all year long, and I can use those songs as transitions between activities. I’ll also do some counting poems and rejoinders.

We also typically do a lot of TPR, which I can’t sustain for long, but I use it to teach classroom vocabulary and directions that I’ll need all year.

Depending on how those go, I’ll start a story with a group that seems to be ready. The three sets of activities will give us a lot of mileage.

I can’t wait!

One response to “Beginners!

  1. Me neither! I can’t wait!

    Have a wonderful year!
    We are so lucky to do for a living what we are passionate about.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

