Wordle graphic

Martina suggested, and Cara O’brien-Holen demonstrated for me, an activity for reviewing vocabulary with Wordle. I tried it out yesterday and today.

Create a list of words you want reviewed, plug it into Wordle, put the resulting word salad onto a handout, and give each pair a copy.

The pair gets different-colored pencils, and when you say a word, the first one to mark it out gets a point. I tried both reading the words and saying the English. It’s not totally comprehensible input, but it’s a fun game, they’re reading, and it gives everyone a brain break.

Two things that helped me: I saved the Wordle (in color) on my Promethean Board and marked out words with the whole class first, and did the same thing as the pairs were marking. I made the Wordles in black and white for the handouts. (I missed the hint about using a tilde between words I want to keep together. Great tip!)

It’s possible to play again with another copy, and then have the kids write a story as Martina suggested. If I were to do this again, I might use fewer words on the Wordle, or I might not play to the bitter end, as my kids insisted.

No matter what, this was an incredibly fun game for the kids. They needed some light-hearted stress relief in this last full week of the semester. Too much tension going on around here! If anyone has other easy-to-implement games, I would appreciate knowing them. I think my game brain has frozen. In the meantime, I’m starting and ending class with Simon’s Cat videos, MovieTalking them of course. The kids are roaring with laughter.

5 responses to “Wordle graphic

  1. A new way I’ve tried to include more comprehensible input in games is by saying a sentence out loud in Spanish that uses one of the structures. In this game, the students would then have to highlight the Spanish word. You could also change it up and put the English words into Wordle so they have to highlight the English word/structure first.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hola!
    One of my favorite games to review vocabulary is quien-que-con que-donde, based on the game clue. I have a set of color coded index cards with the vocabulary for the unit. i.e. house unit. The rooms of the house are in blue, the things in the rooms are in green, the actions we do in the rooms are in yellow, and the members of the family are in pink. I created a chart with all the words per category in alphabetical order and I project the chart. Each student gets one card of each color. The goal is to guess my set of cards. So, like in clue, one student begins by stating a sentence, since it is school appropriate, we do not kill anyone. Student #1 says a full sentence, i.e. “the grandmother sleeps on the sofa in the living-room” and the students who have the cards say loudly, “no, it was not the ‘grandmother”, “no, she did not sleep”, “no, it was not on the sofa”, “no, it was not in the living-room”… as the students say the words, I highlight them in the chart. If a student guesses one of my words, I give the word to that student, and all the words of the category get collected as the students say “it was not…” and I highlight the entire category, but the word.
    Some of the sentences are really funny, specially at the end, when the choices are limited. The game moves fast, it is the class against me with no looser or winner.
    Some times, I start with an extra step which could be a game on its own. Each student draws an image of the sentence after receiving the cards. The pictures are displayed at the end and the class has to say the sentence.I always remember the uncle cleaning the sofa on the roof.

    Like

  3. Love it! I’m going to think about this and ask questions later. But for right now: you keep only one card in each category, and you hand out all the other cards, with each student getting one of each color? Does that mean you have 25 or 30 people, things, places, and actions, to have enough card sets for each kid?

    Like

  4. I have at least 15 cards per category. For big classes, students share cards.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

