In-service brainstorming

We’ve all been in brainstorming sessions at inservices. Having read Susan Cain’s Quiet, I finally understood why those sessions didn’t work for me. She alludes to ways to help mixed groups work together, and I just ran across another source that suggests how to combine group and individual work. While it wouldn’t necessarily work in a beginning language class, it might just help improve our lives in teacher groups.

Annie Sneed reports on research by a team led by Paul Paulus, in which group brainwriting generated  more ideas than either individual brainstorming or spoken brainstorming.

 

2 responses to “In-service brainstorming

  1. Yay! I love it when studies “match” my experiences! I forwarded this to our administrators, and they were very interested. Thank you for posting!

    Like

  2. I’m so glad it’s helpful! Even as an introvert, I don’t always come up with ways to play to the strength of the quiet people, because it looks to outsiders as though people are more engaged when a group is noisy, no matter who the group members are. I love having students act out a story in small groups as they listen, or draw murals together when they read or listen, and this gives me another “quiet” technique.

    Like

Leave a Reply

