Giddy and excited! Me, too!

I saw Martina’s post this morning and had to agree with her. This language acquisition thing feels like magic. People are asking me how I can learn this fast. I’m not trying to “learn.” I’m just trying to get input every day and then to write a little to find out how much I know.

Martina said it all. And as I said to Anny Ewing, who is another of my fabulous “rotation” teachers, while I feel intelligent, the process shows merely that I am a(n) human who has an intact language acquisition center in my brain. It’s not rocket science.  Anyone who wants to acquire a language should gather regularly in a room with a couple of sympathetic speakers and hang out, sometimes reading, sometimes watching a film, sometimes engaging in a conversation…

Oh yeah…that’s what CI classes are!

I’m thrilled right now because I was googling to explore the difference between  entiendo/comprendo, and ran into this post (printed below). I understood the entire thing. It wasn’t even on a language learning site. I am impressed by the super power we don’t know we have until we use it. (I even caught some mistakes by writers on this page…also kind of exciting.)

Mejor respuesta:  Es como en todos los países unos habla rapido, otros no. Yo hablo ingles, fui educada el los Estados Unidos, pero hay veces que me encuentro con NorteAmericanas de las “puras” como digo yo, que cuando me hablan yo les tengo que decir que hablen un poco mas despacio porque te juro que no les entiendo ni la J.
Por otro lado, soy Puertorriqueña y cuando mi familia, especialmente mis hermanos, me hablan, yo no los entiendo y me tienen que repetir las cosas como 3 veces pues hablan tan rapido que yo me quedo: “Ah?”
Ellos me dicen que no parezco Puertorriqueña, pero es que yo me tomo el tiempo de decir cada palabra correctamente, pronunciando las r’s y las s’s bien y ellos no.
En cuanto si uno se va a vivir a un país aprende el idioma mas facilmente, si, definitivamente. La razón es que lo oyes en el diario vivir, y si uno no es de las personas que se apoyan en otra persona que les traduzca todo el tiempo, el idioma se aprende mas rapido. Conozco gente que hacen mas de 30 años que viven aquí en los Estados Unidos y no saben ni decir “hola” en ingles. A esos yo le llamo irresponsables. Es necesario aprender el idioma del país a donde uno se muda; y mudandose si se aprende mucho mas rapido.

Leave a Reply

