Fun in Spanish

I’m at the end of my fourth day of teaching in a Spanish immersion week. Everyone who’s important knows that I am not truly a Spanish teacher. Everyone in my classes likes how I speak slowly and carefully. They understand me! There’s no way I could speak any faster…my monitor is working overtime, and I know that students will learn in this class. I don’t want them to learn incorrect language.

I am having the time of my life! I’m learning to simplify what I do know, and how to compensate for what I don’t. I keep track of phrases I need (“Tenemos suerte” is my most recent acquisition), and when I don’t know something, if I can’t divert attention, I tell the class I don’t know and we move on. It feels as though I’m born to do this language-teaching thing. I knew it was fun in Russian. It’s even easier in Spanish, partly because there’s so much out there. Storytelling authors: you have some orders coming! I brought an assortment of books–some that I had bought for myself, and also a couple of class sets that I ordered for my class at home–just in case people would want them. They did. They’re drinking up the chance to be able to understand what they read. I know just how they feel.

It’s too bad I can’t sit in on the other language classes, because they’re at the same time I’m teaching. But that doesn’t matter…I’m learning a lot by doing my research in the evenings and by actually teaching the material for the second or third time. This is the most patient group of students ever. I’m truly grateful for this opportunity. And now I feel even more inspired to continue my Spanish language acquisition adventure.

 

Leave a Reply

